HEAVYWEIGHT BATTLE HITS MAIN CARD

Scheepers fails to make weight, Michael refuses to go up to meet him. Fight cancelled.

Cape Town, South Africa ‚Äď Cape Town is set to witness an epic night of fights tonight when EFC 72 kicks-off at GrandWest. The main card bout between Luke Michael and Armand Scheepers has been cancelled but the heavyweight fight between Willem Smith and Matunga Djikasa has been bumped up to the opening fight of the main card broadcast.

 

Scheepers failed to make the designated welterweight limit of 77kgs within the time limit. Originally stepping on the scale at 86kgs. By the end of the extra 2 hours allowed to make weight, Scheepers was 83.65kg. Michael declined the bout.

 

The fight has subsequently been cancelled.

 

EFC 72 Van Staden vs Mazany is presented by Betxchange.com and takes place on Saturday 11 August live from GrandWest, Cape Town. Tickets are on sale at computicket.com, and the 5 main card bouts will be broadcast live, starting at 21:30 CAT/19:30 GMT on Kwesé Free Sports 1 (Kenya & Rwanda), Kwese TV (Sub-Saharan Africa), SABC 3 (South Africa), FIGHT SPORTS (Where available) and EFCworldwide.tv (Where available). Prelim bouts available live on the official EFC Facebook page from 17:30 CAT/15:30 GMT. More information at efcworldwide.com.